Categories MusicPosted on

Middle Kids to release ‘Lost Friends’ in May

Australian trio MIDDLE KIDS have announced that they have signed with Lucky Number (Dream Wife, Hinds, Sleigh Bells, Sunflower Bean) and are to release their eagerly-awaited debut album, Lost Friends, out May 4, 2018. They recently played the Moth Club in London.

On Lost Friends, Hannah Joy, Harry Day and Tim Fitz bring back their knack for haunting hooks, lyrical poignancy and irresistible indie rock appeal that critics praised in their self-titled first EP, released in February 2017. This radiant collection of new songs conjures melodic nostalgia for some of songwriting’s very best, rich in heartfelt build and beautiful simplicity. Take “Mistake” as evidence – the first single from the album, released today and available to stream / buy via all digital retailers.

Middle Kids made a powerful debut last year with the release of their internationally acclaimed self-titled EP, featuring singles “Edge of Town” and “Your Love”. The band dazzled at several SXSW and The Great Escape showcases, made their U.S. television debut on Conan and supported legendary acts like Ryan Adams and The War On Drugs.

The new album, Lost Friends, is the kind of album that sucker-punches you in the gut, revealing its nuances only after repeated listens. The songs’ edges are jagged, the production clean, stray imperfections imbue warmth and a human touch. Middle Kids craft classic hooks and riffs that tangle up in your brain like liquorice, and choruses that linger long after the song has faded. And they’ve bonded over a greater sense of what their music should accomplish:

“In a time where a lot of division is growing, we want to be part of the conversation that unites people around certain ideals that are universal, like hope and love,” says Hannah Joy. “That’s so much a thread throughout this album: Even though things are tough, it’s worth believing in something good and in the idea that we can heal. And in some ways, I wanted the music to be beautiful and a respite from what’s going on.”

Lost Friends is available to pre-order now HERE on limited-edition lilac-coloured gatefold vinyl, gatefold CD, and digital download.

Lost Friends track-listing:
01. Bought It
02. Mistake
03. Edge Of Town
04. Maryland
05. On My Knees
06. Don’t Be Hiding
07. Hole
08. Please
09. Lost Friends
10. Never Start
11. Tell Me Something
12. So Long Farewell I’m Gone

“Led by the powerful vocals of Hannah Joy, the trio deal in infectious indie pop-rock.”

“Hannah’s voice is a little Stevie Nicksie and the jangly guitars sound like they’re lifted from an interstitial scene in Singles, but you know sometimes you hear a song and you just like it.”

“Heartfelt, clever ruminations at the intersection of indie rock and alt-country”

“How does a band get this good, this quickly?”BILLBOARD

Cover credit: Maclay Heriot