Categories MusicPosted on

Motrade: Together We Grow

SEEN loves Motrade’s hypnotic electronic groove and suggests you check out the new single.


Swiss Electronic duo, Motrade are set to release their debut EP on Subsonic Foundation Records on the 9th of December 2016.
The ‘Together We Grow’ EP was recorded over the last eighteen months in their own studio in Lugano, using a mix of Analog and Digital equipment to get the best result out of both worlds. They tweaked and experimented for hours with sound waves, using traditional and alternative production techniques.

Featuring three brand new tracks including the single, ‘Together We Grow’, the EP will be released as a special limited edition CD and will be available to download at all the major outlets. The new tracks will provide the first indication of what to expect from their forthcoming debut album, which is set for release early next year.

EP Track listing:
01. ‘Dreaming of you’
02. ‘Together we grow’
03. ‘Touching paradise’

Originally from Switzerland, the Motrade duo of Anja (Vocals / Bass) and Kevin (Synths / Drums / Sampler / Keys) moved to Amsterdam so the latter could complete a Bachelor of Arts in Audio Production. Inspired by the thriving underground music scene there, they began writing together in 2010 and are constantly developing their very own musical style. They have released a series of low-key singles over the last few years and recently contributed a track under their Techno Alias, MTRD to a recent compilation on Planet Rhythm Records.

Citing the likes of Apparat, Howling, Bob Moses, David August, Ellen Allien, and Burial as musical influences, the EP sees the duo dip into Deep Electronic, Techno, UK Bass, Garage and House to produce a stunning set of songs that mix pop vocals with melancholy dark sounds to great effect. To coincide with the forthcoming EP and album release, Motrade will be announcing DJ and live dates in the very near future.

Seen this week

Categories FashionPosted on

MO-GA: Perfectly Imperfect

As the Sun shines on Earth, so MO-GA’s gender-fluid designs grace the bodies of everyone, rejoicing in ambiguity. Multiple sleeves and feathers recall the animal kingdom in all its glorious diversity; it’s a new aesthetic.

Categories Food&DrinkPosted on

Cocktails at the General Store

SEEN is tireless in her cocktail research, and very much enjoyed travelling to Highbury last week to try The General Store’s new summer cocktail menu and to check out the new interior. She was delighted to sample a Honey Mimosa, very sweet and fruity and just the ticket after a hot journey. It was, as its name suggests, a Mimosa with just a touch of honey.

Categories ArtPosted on

Canaletto: A Drawing Workshop with Alexandra Blum

SEEN has long been an admirer of Alexandra Blum’s liminal and apocalyptic renderings of London’s urban spaces, in which the capital seems ever-changing. It is the artist’s job to capture not only space but the passage of time itself.

Categories MusicPosted on

Rock the Strand is Back Thursday 27th July

One of SEEN’s favourite live music events, Rock the Strand, returns to Strand Palace Hotel on Thursday 27th July for a summer showcase featuring a stellar line-up of talented artists. Curated by industry mogul Tony Moore, Rock the Strand is a free music night that showcases an eclectic range of genres from indie alt-folk to country from emerging new talent and established acts, highlighting the UK’s varied and diverse musical landscape.

Categories GuidePosted on

Love Hunt at the British Museum

SEEN had the pleasure (pun intended) of being invited to a ‘Love Hunt’ at the British Museum. The museum, founded in 1753, is committed to preserving art, culture and history, and has collected around 8 million objects. These artefacts come from every corner of the world, revealing a fragment of many significant moments in time, from Mesopotamia to the Vikings; from the Inuits to the Indians. So, when one embarks on a visit to the world famous British Museum, where does one start?